Nigeria Country Risk Check for USD Payments to Local Suppliers: Medium Risk
Bottom line
Rating: Medium (assessment). Nigeria carries no country-wide sanctions program under the three regimes you named and has left the FATF grey list. The real risk for paying local suppliers in US dollars is legal and operational: the naira is the legal tender, a legal commentary reports that a Federal High Court refused to enforce a foreign-currency facility, and access to dollars still runs through CBN-regulated channels.
This report is a research summary and not legal advice. Controls are considerations for your compliance and legal teams.
What matters most for this context
- Payments first: Domestic dollar pricing is lawful to agree in some readings but contested in others, so contract design and bank routing matter more than country sanctions.
- FX: The official rate is about ₦1,330 per dollar and the parallel rate is ₦1,365 to ₦1,390 on 5 October 2026, a gap of roughly 2.6% to 4.5% (derived), and the IMF still lists remaining exchange restrictions to phase out.
- AML/KYC: Nigerian corruption indicators remain weak, so supplier ownership checks are the main control.
Interpretations made
- "Paying local suppliers in USD" is read as your entity paying Nigerian-resident suppliers for raw materials, either from offshore USD accounts or through Nigerian bank USD accounts.
- Regimes assessed: US OFAC, EU and UK OFSI only. The UN was checked for context.
- Country resolved to the Federal Republic of Nigeria (not Niger, which appears on the EU Sanctions Map).
Sanctions: no Nigeria program under OFAC, the EU or the UK, so exposure is list-based
I found no Nigeria-wide or sectoral program in any of the three regimes. Status is quoted from the program indexes retrieved on 5 October 2026. Exposure arises through designated persons, so screening each supplier and owner against the lists is the working control.
| Regime | Program | Scope | Key limits | Source | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| US OFAC | No Nigeria program on the Sanctions Programs and Country Information index; the Nigeria-specific page URL returned 404 | None found (list-based only, through the SDN List and other OFAC lists) | None country-level. Name screening still applies | OFAC programs index; OFAC list search tool | Checked 5 Oct 2026 |
| EU | Nigeria is not in the country list of the EU Sanctions Map (Niger is) | None found | None country-level. Screen against the EU consolidated list | EU Sanctions Map | Map last updated 2 Jul 2026 |
| UK OFSI / FCDO | No Nigeria regime visible in the retrieved text of the current UK sanctions regimes collection (assessment: confirm on the OFSI consolidated list) | None found | None country-level | Current UK sanctions regimes | Collection last updated 25 Mar 2026 |
| UN Security Council (context) | Nigeria is not among the 31 regimes the Council has established | None | None | UN Security Council sanctions | Checked 5 Oct 2026 |
Relevance to this context: Because there is no program, paying a clean Nigerian supplier in dollars does not itself raise a sanctions bar. USD clearing does bring US jurisdiction, so a supplier that is an SDN, or 50% or more owned by one, would still be blocked (assessment, based on how OFAC lists operate). I did not run name searches on any specific counterparty; your supplier names are needed for that.
KEY TAKEAWAY: Sanctions risk is about who you pay, not where they are.
AML and corruption indicators: delisted from the FATF and EU lists, but corruption scores stay weak
Nigeria's formal AML status improved sharply in the last year. Its corruption and governance scores did not.
| Indicator | Status or score | Edition/date | Source | Stale? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| FATF grey list (increased monitoring) | Not named on the 19 June 2026 list; Nigeria exited the grey list in October 2025 | Plenary 17 to 19 June 2026 | FATF increased monitoring, 19 June 2026; Nigeria Federal Ministry of Finance | No |
| FATF black list (call for action) | Not checked line by line; the call-for-action page was not fetched | 19 June 2026 | FATF June 2026 outcomes | n/a |
| Latest mutual evaluation (GIABA) | 2021 report (on-site visit 2019). Follow-up report: 32 Recommendations rated C/LC; Nigeria stays in enhanced follow-up on effectiveness | MER 4 Nov 2021; follow-up 2023/24 | FATF Nigeria follow-up page | Yes (older than 12 months) |
| EU high-risk third countries | Nigeria removed by Delegated Regulation (EU) 2026/83, adopted 4 Dec 2025 | Official Journal 9 Jan 2026 | EUR-Lex 2026/83 | No |
| Basel AML Index | 6.18, rank 38 in the 2025 Public Edition table (assessment: higher score means higher risk) | 14th edition, 8 Dec 2025 | Basel Institute ranking; Basel Institute report page | No |
| TI Corruption Perceptions Index | 26 out of 100, 142nd of 182 (140th in 2024) | CPI 2025, published 10 Feb 2026 | ICIR report on CPI 2025 | No |
| World Bank WGI: Political Stability | 35.1 in 2025 (33.2 in 2024), on a 0 to 100 scale | Updated 25 Sep 2026 | World Bank API, GOV_WGI_PV.SC | No |
| World Bank WGI: Control of Corruption | 26.5 in 2025 (25.6 in 2024) | Updated 25 Sep 2026 | World Bank API, GOV_WGI_CC.SC | No |
| World Bank WGI: Rule of Law | 43.0 in 2025 (42.2 in 2024) | Updated 25 Sep 2026 | World Bank API, GOV_WGI_RL.SC | No |
Interpretation (assessment): Removal from both the FATF and EU lists lowers the baseline for customer-due-diligence and bank-side friction. A CPI score of 26 and a Control of Corruption score of 26.5 still point to bribery and beneficial-ownership opacity in supplier chains, especially in procurement, customs and permits. Rule of Law (43.0) is the strongest of the three WGI measures but still below the midpoint.
KEY TAKEAWAY: The country-level AML flags are cleared, so the residual risk sits in supplier-level ownership and corruption.
Payment and political risk: dollar supplier payments face legal-tender, FX-access and enforceability risk
Ordered by your context: transfer and FX first, then banking and data, then stability.
Legal tender and USD contracts. The CBN says the Central Bank of Nigeria is the sole issuer of legal tender currency in Nigeria. A legal commentary notes that the CBN Act makes it an offence to refuse the naira and reports a Federal High Court decision that held a foreign-currency facility illegal and unenforceable. The same commentary argues the court was wrong, because legal-tender status does not by itself bar parties from agreeing a foreign-currency price. An academic paper adds that the EFCC Chairman has called domestic dollar pricing an "aberration and unlawful". The decision date and appeal status were not confirmed. My assessment is that the law is unsettled, so a dollar-priced domestic supply contract carries enforcement risk if a dispute reaches a Nigerian court.
FX availability and rates. Nigeria unified its FX windows into the NFEM in June 2023. On 5 October 2026 the official rate was about ₦1,330 per dollar, with the parallel market at ₦1,365 to ₦1,390, and another outlet put the official NAFEM print at ₦1,332. The gap is roughly 2.6% to 4.5% (derived from those figures). These are press-reported rates, not central bank data. The IMF reports that gross reserves rose to US$46 billion in 2025 from US$40 billion at end-2024, which supports dollar availability. A narrow gap suggests that paying through official channels is not heavily penalised, but that is an assessment from a single day's quotes.
Exchange restrictions and repatriation. In the June 2026 Article IV conclusion, IMF Directors called for phasing out remaining exchange restrictions, capital flow management measures and multiple currency practices as conditions permit. The CBN launched the Fourth Edition of its Foreign Exchange Manual on 15 May 2026; I could not retrieve its text, so import-payment documentation rules (such as Form M) must be confirmed against the manual. A banking guide says Nigeria was removed from the IATA blocked-funds list in December 2024, which is older than 12 months (stale) and relates to airline funds, not supplier payments. The same guide says banks still hold limited FX pools and may delay non-priority transactions. Dividend and repatriation limits were not confirmed in this run.
Payment rails and correspondent banking. The CBN unveiled Nigeria Payments System Vision 2028 on 1 June 2026. I found no source showing that Nigerian banks have lost SWIFT access. An undated SWIFT paper states that Nigeria's international banking network has not suffered de-risking; treat that as weak evidence. I found no authoritative recent report on correspondent-bank withdrawals, so this remains an open question.
Data localization. The Nigeria Data Protection Act 2023 was assented on 13 June 2023 and created the NDPC as regulator, and the GAID 2025 was issued on 20 March 2025 with cross-border transfer rules. The same secondary summary says the NDPC reiterated those rules on 24 June 2026, requiring safeguards such as adequacy decisions or contractual clauses. It describes safeguards, not a blanket local-storage rule. Sector rules for banking or telecom were not confirmed. Supplier KYC files that contain personal data will fall under the NDPA when transferred offshore: the NDPC site is the primary source to check.
Stability and conflict. As retrieved through an extraction tool (the official site blocked automated fetches, so re-confirm), the US State Department rates Nigeria Level 3, Reconsider travel, issued 12 June 2026 for crime, terrorism, unrest, kidnapping and health care, with Level 4 for Borno, Yobe, Kogi and northern Adamawa. The UK FCDO page advises against all travel to parts of Nigeria and against all but essential travel to other parts, and its map edition is Edition 11, July 2026. A conflict tracker updated 24 September 2026 describes an active, high-intensity insurgency and communal violence (a secondary source). Separately, the NCDC placed Nigeria on high alert for Ebola on 23 September 2026, after the WHO declared an outbreak in the DRC and Uganda a public health emergency of international concern on 17 May 2026. For raw-material supply, the main effect is on transport and sourcing from northern and middle-belt states (assessment).
KEY TAKEAWAY: The dominant risks are contract enforceability and FX channel access, not sanctions or AML listing.
Controls to apply
| # | Control | Level | Why |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Screen every supplier, owner (25% or more and control persons) and bank against SDN, EU consolidated and UK OFSI lists at onboarding and on list updates | Baseline | List-based exposure only |
| 2 | Obtain beneficial-ownership evidence and run adverse-media and PEP checks on suppliers in procurement-heavy sectors | Enhanced | CPI 26 and Control of Corruption 26.5 |
| 3 | Take Nigerian legal advice on whether to price in naira with USD-equivalent indexation, or in USD with explicit governing law and arbitration seat outside Nigeria | Enhanced | Court decision on foreign-currency facility and legal-tender provisions |
| 4 | Pay through authorised Nigerian dealer banks against invoices, with import documentation (confirm Form M or equivalent under the Fourth Edition manual) | Enhanced | FX rules and documentation text not retrieved |
| 5 | Pay only to accounts in the supplier's name and in the stated jurisdiction; no third-party or cash payments | Baseline | Fraud and AML hygiene |
| 6 | Track official and parallel rates weekly and set a gap trigger for review (for example, if the gap exceeds a level you set) | Baseline | Gap is currently about 2.6% to 4.5% (derived) |
| 7 | Add a payment-timing clause covering delays from FX allocation and bank processing | Baseline | Banks may delay non-priority FX |
| 8 | Hold a data-transfer mechanism (contractual clauses or consent basis) before sending supplier personal data offshore | Baseline | NDPA and GAID 2025 |
| 9 | Plan site-visit and logistics security for sources in the north and middle belt | Enhanced | US Level 3 and Level 4 areas |
| 10 | Re-run country review after the next FATF plenary and any CBN FX circular | Baseline | Status can change |
Open questions
- FATF October 2026 plenary: I could not confirm the date from FATF pages. Monitor the FATF outcomes page after it concludes. Nigeria is not currently listed, so the risk is relapse rather than new designation.
- Black list: Confirm Nigeria is absent from the 19 June 2026 call-for-action page, which I did not fetch.
- UK regime and OFSI list: Confirm no Nigeria-related regime or designations against your named suppliers on the OFSI consolidated list. I could not retrieve a Nigeria-specific UK page.
- Court decision on dollar contracts: The date, court level and appeal status of the Federal High Court decision were not confirmed. Counsel input is needed.
- CBN Fourth Edition manual: Obtain the text and your bank's interpretation for supplier payments, FX sourcing and repatriation.
- Correspondent banking: No authoritative recent evidence found; ask your bank about Nigerian counterparty bank relationships.
- Sector data-localization rules: Banking and telecom rules not confirmed.
- Elections: The 2027 general election timetable was not verified in this run; check the INEC site for dates.
- Secondary-source reliance: The NDPC communication, rate quotes and conflict-tracker facts come from secondary sources.
Sources
Access date for all entries: 5 October 2026.
- Sanctions Programs and Country Information, OFAC (US Treasury), undated
- Sanctions List Search Tool, OFAC (US Treasury), undated
- EU Sanctions Map, European Union, last update 2 July 2026
- Current UK sanctions regimes, GOV.UK (FCDO), last updated 25 March 2026
- UN Security Council sanctions information, United Nations, undated
- Jurisdictions under Increased Monitoring, 19 June 2026, FATF, 19 June 2026
- Outcomes FATF Plenary, 17 to 19 June 2026, FATF, 19 June 2026
- Nigeria's progress in measures to combat money laundering and terrorist financing, FATF/GIABA follow-up, 2023/24
- Nigeria welcomes European Commission's removal from EU AML/CFT high-risk list, Federal Ministry of Finance, Nigeria, January 2026 (date not stated on page)
- Commission Delegated Regulation (EU) 2026/83, EUR-Lex, adopted 4 December 2025, published 9 January 2026
- Basel AML Index public ranking 2025, Basel Institute on Governance, December 2025
- Basel AML Index 2025 report page, Basel Institute on Governance, 8 December 2025
- Nigeria slips in global corruption ranking, The Guardian Nigeria, 10 February 2026
- Nigeria is 37th most corrupt nation, ICIR, 10 February 2026
- World Bank WGI Political Stability (GOV_WGI_PV.SC), World Bank, updated 25 September 2026
- World Bank WGI Control of Corruption (GOV_WGI_CC.SC), World Bank, updated 25 September 2026
- World Bank WGI Rule of Law (GOV_WGI_RL.SC), World Bank, updated 25 September 2026
- Legal Tender, Central Bank of Nigeria, undated
- Legality of foreign currency-denominated loans by Nigerian banks, Lexology, date not stated
- The US Dollar in Nigerian Commercial Transactions, SSRN (Kuewumi), date not stated
- Dollar to Naira Today, 5 October 2026, WithinNigeria, 5 October 2026
- Naira-Dollar Rate 5 October 2026, Arbiterz, 5 October 2026
- IMF Executive Board concludes 2026 Article IV consultation with Nigeria, IMF Press Release 26/190, 9 June 2026
- CBN Reforms and Initiatives, Central Bank of Nigeria, 2026
- Moving Money Out of Nigeria, BanQ Global, date not stated
- Addressing the unintended consequences of de-risking, SWIFT, date not stated
- NDPC cross-border transfer rules summary, Wansom, 24 June 2026
- Nigeria Data Protection Commission, NDPC, undated
- Nigeria Travel Advisory, US Department of State, 12 June 2026
- Nigeria travel advice, GOV.UK (FCDO), current
- FCDO Nigeria Travel Advice Edition 11, GOV.UK, July 2026
- Nigeria Conflict Record, Armed Conflicts Monitor, revised 24 September 2026
- Ebola outbreak: NCDC places Nigeria on high alert, Pulse Nigeria, 23 September 2026
- Ebola epidemic determined a PHEIC, WHO, 17 May 2026