AWS reshuffles indemnified AI services and deletes two workforce data clauses
AWS Service Terms (English) moved from "Last Updated: September 15, 2026" (prior text: Wayback capture of Sep 27, 2026) to "Last Updated: October 1, 2026" (current live page). Effective date not stated. I compared the English text only; no German-language version of the terms was retrieved. The page does not describe these edits.
50.10 · modified · effective date not stated: Indemnified Generative AI Services list previously included "Amazon Nova Canvas" → now absent; "AWS Elemental Inference" added. Matters because it changes which AI services carry AWS's defense-and-indemnity terms. 60.3.2 · removed · effective date not stated: old "When using the public workforce of Amazon SageMaker Ground Truth: (a) you may not provide datasets that contain protected health information, personally identifying information, or other personal data… (c) you acknowledge and agree that Your Content provided to the public workforce may be moved outside of the AWS region…" → clause deleted; later 60.3.x clauses renumbered. Matters because a personal-data restriction and cross-region movement notice no longer appear. 76.2 · removed · effective date not stated: old "When using the Amazon Mechanical Turk workforce of Amazon Augmented AI: (a) you may not provide data or content that contains protected health information… (b) …may be moved outside of the AWS region…" → deleted; former 76.3 (third-party vendor workforce compliance responsibility) is now 76.2. Matters because it removes a data-processing restriction and region notice. No other changes were found in the text diff; the SageMaker Savings Plan price-change clause was only renumbered (now 60.3.4).
Review with counsel: AI indemnity coverage assumptions for Nova Canvas, and whether personal-data restrictions in SageMaker Ground Truth and Augmented AI workflows relied on the deleted clauses.