Parental leave benchmark for Northeast nonprofits: your 8 weeks for birthing parents sits below the 12-week peer middle
Scope
Scope: Employer-paid parental leave (weeks, pay level, eligibility, return-to-work support) at US nonprofits, read as Northeast mid-size (200 to 1,000 staff). I could not verify headcount for any peer, so the peer set is "Northeast-leaning nonprofits with a published policy", and three of them are universities that are probably larger than your band (inference). Your current practice is 8 weeks paid for the birthing parent, 4 weeks for others, and no phased return. Small n throughout. This is a benchmark for you to confirm, not legal advice.
Summary
- Twelve weeks is the typical employer-paid leave for birthing parents. Of 11 peers with published weeks, the median is 12 and the range is 4 to 18 (NY Genome Center states up to 18 to 20, partly paid). Four peers sit at exactly 12. Evidence is peer policy pages, so it is strong per peer but not a random sample.
- Non-birthing parents typically get 6 weeks, and many peers do not split by birth role. Of 10 peers with a published figure, the median is 6 and the range is 4 to 16. Conservation Law Foundation gives 12 weeks fully paid "regardless of gender" and Pathfinder gives 16 weeks to each eligible legal parent.
- Full pay is the norm among peers with detail. Four of 11 peers state 100% or full pay outright, two more (Smith, Bentley) say normal or base pay continues, and one (Lehigh) ties 100% to five years of service and pays 60% below that.
- Sector surveys say paid leave is still a minority benefit, but longer where offered. PPI's 2025 survey of over 200 nonprofit employers reports that, among organizations offering it, 45% give 6 to 12 weeks of paid maternity leave and 23% give more than 12. A University of Georgia study (126 Georgia nonprofits, 260 usable respondents) puts paid maternity leave at 38% of nonprofits, 25% for small and 51% for large ones.
- Formal phased return is rare in what I could read. No peer page describes a structured phased return. Pathfinder allows intermittent leave with HR approval and points to a flexible work arrangements policy, and CLF lists an alternate work arrangement policy (2 of 11).
Peer table
Size is "not verified" unless stated, because no source gave headcount. Cost and metrics were not disclosed by any peer. Evidence grade: policy pages are strong; the two job-posting rows are weak evidence.
| Organization | Size/region | Model or structure | Key terms or levels | Cost or resourcing | Metrics tracked | Source and date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Conservation Law Foundation | Size not verified; region not stated on page | Gender-neutral, flat | 12 weeks fully paid, with state paid family leave on top; alternate work arrangement policy | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | CLF benefits page, undated, retrieved Oct 2026 |
| Pathfinder International | Size not verified; global, US policy | Gender-neutral, per legal parent | 16 weeks at 100% pay; continuous or intermittent with HR approval; 3 months of service needed; 30 days notice | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | US Parental Leave Policy v3.0, effective Jan 2020, review date lapsed |
| NY Genome Center | Size not verified; New York | Birth-parent model, partly paid | Up to 18 to 20 weeks partly paid for birth parents; paid leave for foster and adoptive parents (weeks not stated) | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | NYGC benefits, Dec 2023 |
| Breast Cancer Research Foundation | Size not verified; New York City (job posting) | Birth versus non-birth split | 18 weeks at 100% (birthing), 12 weeks at 100% (non-birthing). Weak evidence: job posting | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Job posting, Aug 2026 |
| GreenLight Fund | Size not verified; Boston (job posting) | Birth versus non-birth split | 12 weeks (birth parents), 6 weeks (non-birth parents). Weak evidence: job posting | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Job posting, undated |
| Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center | Very large (inference, not a mid-size peer); New York | Flat | 6 weeks fully paid for birth, adoption or foster | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | MSK careers benefits, undated, retrieved Oct 2026 |
| USO | Size not verified; national | Flat | 8 weeks paid for birth, adoption or foster | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | USO careers, undated, retrieved Oct 2026 |
| Big Brothers Big Sisters (bigsri.org careers page) | Size not verified; likely Rhode Island (page title, inference) | Flat | Up to 4 weeks paid | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | BBBS careers, undated, retrieved Oct 2026 |
| Smith College | University, likely over 1,000 staff (inference); Massachusetts (page cites MPLA) | Primary versus non-primary caregiver | 12 weeks paid (primary), up to 4 weeks (non-primary), at normal weekly pay | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Smith employee handbook, Section 512, retrieved Oct 2026 |
| Bentley University | University, size not verified; Waltham, MA | Birth versus partner split | 12 weeks paid for birth mothers (8 recovery plus 4 bonding); 4 weeks bonding for partners, adoptive and foster parents; base pay and benefits continue | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Bentley staff parental leave policy, approved July 2018 |
| Lehigh University | University, size not verified | Tenure-tiered, flat weeks | 6 weeks at 100% pay with 5 or more years of service, 60% with 1 to 5 years; can be combined with 6 or 8 weeks of short-term disability for birth parents | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Lehigh staff paid parental leave, policy for births on or after July 2022 |
Ranges
Computed only from the table above, so n is small and the peers are not a random sample. Weeks count employer-paid time at any pay level, so a 60% or partly paid week counts the same as a fully paid one.
| Key term | Low | Typical | High | n | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Paid weeks, birthing parent | 4 | 12 (median) | 18 (18 to 20 at NYGC) | 11 | Peer table |
| Paid weeks, non-birthing parent | 4 | 6 (median) | 16 | 10 (NYGC not stated) | Peer table |
| Pay level during leave | 60% (Lehigh, under 5 years) | 100% | 100% | 7 peers state a rate (4 outright, 2 as normal or base pay, Lehigh tiered) | Peer table |
| Share of nonprofits with paid maternity leave | 25% (small) | 38% (all) | 51% (large) | 126 Georgia nonprofits (n=126) | UGA survey, Nov 2024 |
| Length where offered | 6 to 12 weeks (45% of those offering) | 6 to 12 weeks | Over 12 weeks (23%) | Over 200 employers | PPI 2025 survey |
| Formal phased return | Not documented | Not documented | Intermittent leave (Pathfinder) | 11 pages read | Peer table |
PPI notes that its sample "may not be statistically representative" of US nonprofits, and that respondents with more than 500 employees (n=6) were not shown as a separate segment. Both surveys cover all sizes, so neither isolates your band.
Legal minimums (kept separate from the ranges). These are state-funded benefits at partial wage replacement, not employer-paid weeks. Check coverage and pay rates with each agency or counsel.
| Jurisdiction | Parental leave under state program | Notes | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| New York | 12 weeks | Mandatory, private insurance | BPC state PFML chart, Mar 2026 |
| Massachusetts | 12 weeks | Mandatory; up to 20 weeks medical, 26 combined | BPC, Mar 2026 |
| Connecticut | 12 weeks | Mandatory | BPC, Mar 2026 |
| New Jersey | 12 weeks | Mandatory | BPC, Mar 2026 |
| Rhode Island | 8 weeks | Mandatory | BPC, Mar 2026 |
| Maine | 12 weeks | Mandatory | BPC, Mar 2026 |
| Vermont | At least 6 weeks | Voluntary, private insurance | BPC, Mar 2026 |
| Federal FMLA and Massachusetts MPLA | Up to 12 weeks unpaid under FMLA; MPLA gives up to 8 weeks unpaid after 3 months of employment | Job protection, no pay | Bentley and Smith policy pages (secondary descriptions) |
New Hampshire, Pennsylvania and other states were not checked here.
Practices to adopt
- Lift birthing-parent paid leave to 12 weeks (Medium effort). Twelve weeks is the peer median and the most common single value. CLF, Smith, Bentley and GreenLight all use 12. Bentley builds it as 8 weeks of recovery plus 4 of bonding, which keeps your existing 8 weeks as the first block.
- Narrow the gap for non-birthing parents to 6 weeks, or drop the birth split (Low to Medium). Six is the non-birthing median (Lehigh, MSK, GreenLight). CLF and Pathfinder pay all legal parents the same.
- Coordinate with the state program instead of running a separate clock (Low). CLF states its leave comes "with additional benefits through" paid family medical leave plans, and Lehigh and Bentley run paid leave alongside FMLA or disability. Whether this lowers your cost depends on your state and plan design (inference).
- Add a written flexible-return option (Low to Medium). Pathfinder lets parents take leave intermittently with HR approval and refers returners to a flexible work arrangements policy. CLF lists an alternate work arrangement policy. That is the closest peer evidence for your missing phased return, and no peer documents a full phased schedule.
- Set pay-by-tenure rules deliberately (Medium). Lehigh pays 100% after 5 years and 60% between 1 and 5. This is the only tiered design in the set, so treat it as a cost-control option, not a norm.
Gap list
| Key term | Your value | Benchmark typical (range) | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Paid weeks, birthing parent | 8 | 12 (4 to 18, NYGC up to 18 to 20) | Within range, below typical |
| Paid weeks, non-birthing parent | 4 | 6 (4 to 16) | Within range, at the low end |
| Pay level | Not given | 100% or normal pay at 6 of 11 peers | No comparison (input missing) |
| Phased or flexible return | None | Intermittent leave and flexible arrangements at 2 of 11; no formal phased schedule found | Below the little evidence available |
| Legal minimum | 8 and 4 paid weeks | No state requires employer-paid weeks; state programs give 8 to 12 weeks | Not below a minimum, since state benefits are paid by the state program (counsel to confirm for your state) |
Do next
- Decide target weeks: 12 for birthing parents and 6 for others fits the median, and a 12 and 12 gender-neutral design matches CLF.
- Price it. No peer disclosed cost, so model it from your own leave history and your state program's wage replacement.
- Draft a one-page return-to-work option (reduced hours or intermittent leave for a set period, HR approved) modeled on Pathfinder's wording.
- Collect 5 to 8 more peers with confirmed headcount in your band, using Form 990 data, before you cite this externally.
Open items
- Excluded near misses: NewPath (6 weeks, but based in Ohio); Planned Parenthood of Greater New York and Planned Parenthood of Northern New England (state paid family leave or "paid parental leave" with no weeks stated); Red Cross (80% pay for 12 weeks of family caregiving leave, not parental leave; national and very large); Penn State (4 weeks, very large).
- Unresolved: headcount for every peer; pay rates for USO, Big Brothers Big Sisters, MSK and the two job-posting peers; whether any peer offers a true phased return; metrics and cost for any peer.
Coverage
No Form 990 or headcount source was reached, so no peer is confirmed in the 200 to 1,000 band. Several policy pages are undated.
Sources
- PPI Benefit Solutions, 2025 Nonprofit Employee Benefits Survey Report
- University of Georgia, Nonprofit Employee Benefits Report, Nov 2024
- Bipartisan Policy Center, Features of State Paid Family and Medical Leave Programs, Mar 2026
- Conservation Law Foundation, benefits and culture
- Pathfinder International, US Parental Leave Policy v3.0
- NY Genome Center, benefits, Dec 2023
- Breast Cancer Research Foundation job posting, Aug 2026
- GreenLight Fund Boston job posting
- Memorial Sloan Kettering, life at MSK benefits
- USO careers
- Big Brothers Big Sisters careers (bigsri.org)
- Smith College employee handbook, Parental Leave
- Bentley University, Staff Parental Leave Policy, July 2018
- Lehigh University, Staff Paid Parental Leave Benefit
- NewPath, parental leave