NTIA's supplemental BEAD round is the live opportunity for an Ohio rural ISP, but its timeline is open-ended and the remaining ~$21B has no spending guidance yet. USDA tightened REAP rules and made a ReConnect award; no verified new rural electric (RUS) funding notice surfaced this week.
01NTIA · Sep 3NTIA supplemental BEAD round: state process runs about 150 days before bidding
NTIA's BEAD Supplemental Deployment Policy Notice (published Sep 3, 2026) lets states access additional BEAD funding for locations still unserved because of defaults in other programs, provider misreporting and FCC map changes since Final Proposals. It modifies and replaces certain NOFO requirements. BEAD was set at $42.45 billion under the IIJA. The notice states no new dollar figure; Roll Call reported it is unclear how much the round will require.
Per Light Reading's account of a Sep 30 industry discussion: states get 30 days to validate NTIA's location list, one week to publish it, a 30-day challenge window and 30 days to adjudicate, then a 90-day supplemental bidding round. Funding caps are reported to use each state's average cost per location from approved final proposals, and the round covers unserved, not underserved, locations. NTIA's own review times are not fixed.
Assessment for your bid: Ohio subgrants appear unlikely before mid-2027; scattered unserved locations and a cost cap blending cheaper satellite awards may limit fiber economics.
02Senate letter · Sep 29Bipartisan senators press NTIA for guidance on up to $21B non-deployment funds
Sens. Shaheen, Collins, King, Cassidy, Cortez Masto and Warner wrote NTIA asking what uses of BEAD "non-deployment" funding will be approved. Roll Call reports up to $21 billion is affected, and that Commerce has repeatedly missed estimated release dates; NTIA's September notice said other uses "will be addressed in subsequent guidance" with no deadline. This is a congressional request, not an agency action.
Light Reading quotes consultant Carol Mattey, an outside commentator, speculating NTIA may issue no further guidance until the supplemental round concludes. That is her view, not NTIA's stated plan.
Assessment for your bid: Treat non-deployment dollars (adoption, anchor institutions, other uses) as unavailable for planning until NTIA publishes guidance; subgrant timing there is unknown.
03Congress · Sep 2Stopgap funds Agriculture and Commerce programs through Dec 11, 2026
President Trump signed H.R. 6500, the Continuing Appropriations and Extensions Act, 2027 (P.L. 119-103), on Sep 2, 2026 after a 370-48 House vote on Sep 1. Division A funds activities under all 12 regular appropriations bills from Oct 1 through Dec 11, 2026, with CBO estimating $1.701 trillion in annualized discretionary budget authority (CRS, Sep 17).
I did not verify CR treatment of specific NTIA or USDA Rural Development accounts. Enacted CR stage means interim spending authority, not new awards.
Assessment for your bid: Expect a Dec 11 funding cliff; USDA and NTIA new-start decisions may slow if full-year FY2027 bills slip.
04USDA · Oct 2USDA final rule tightens REAP eligibility ahead of application window
USDA Rural Business-Cooperative Service issued a final rule with comment period for the Rural Energy for America Program (Federal Register, Oct 1, 2026; USDA release Oct 2). Changes include requiring projects to be fully built and operating before applying, a single national competition, and disincentives for solar and wind on cropland; multilocation projects are ineligible. Applications with a Form 1940-1 signed before the effective date continue.
USDA says annual notices will announce window dates and a funding amount was not stated in the release I reviewed. I did not read the Federal Register text for the effective date or comment deadline.
Assessment for your bid: Mostly relevant if you pursue on-site energy projects; the build-first rule shifts financing risk onto applicants.
05USDA Rural Development · Oct 5USDA ReConnect awards $11,710,860 grant for Oregon tribal fiber build
USDA Rural Development announced $11,710,860 in grant funds (award announced; fiscal year not stated) under the ReConnect Loan and Grant Program to the Confederated Tribes of Siletz Indians for fiber in rural Lincoln County, Oregon. The release does not give a prior-year comparison.
The award shows ReConnect still obligating grants during this period. It is outside Ohio.
Assessment for your bid: ReConnect remains a possible alternative or complement for non-BEAD areas, but I found no new funding notice or window this week.
Enable JavaScript to read this edition.