Public Project Pipeline Watch: Water and Sanitation in Kenya

Ruto pledges KSh30bn from National Infrastructure Fund for Mzima Springs water expansion

A pledge-heavy week with no new World Bank, AfDB or Water Sector Trust Fund approvals found; no verified item has a published value that clears the USD 5m floor at a firm stage. I could not open the World Bank, AfDB, PPIP or KWSTF portals directly, so this edition rests on government and press reports; I could not check prior editions.

The 30-second version
  1. Mzima Springs expansion: KSh30bn pledged via National Infrastructure Fund, announced Sep 28; no funding or tender yet.
  2. Bosto Dam (KSh21bn est.): Kenya and China Exim agreed to fast-track preparation; no financing agreed.
  3. Muwachi water plant contract signed with Coast Water Authority; value not disclosed, contractor named by press.
01Presidency · Sep 28

Mzima Springs expansion pledged KSh30bn from National Infrastructure Fund

President William Ruto announced in Taita-Taveta that expansion of the Mzima Springs water project will start this year, with KSh30 billion (about USD 231m at roughly KES 129.6/USD, the rate implied by MangoFetch's Sep 28 conversion, not a CBK rate) to be financed through the National Infrastructure Fund. It would supply Mwatate, Voi and Taveta and also Mombasa. The first phase dates from 1984.

Stage: announced pledge, reported via Presidential Communication Services text carried by The Mt Kenya Times. No appraisal, budget line, tender or contractor has been published.

For bidders and investors: Treat this as an intention only; check the National Infrastructure Fund's allocations and the owner's procurement notices before any pursuit.

02Water PS · Sep 24

Kenya and China Exim agree to fast-track Bosto Dam preparation

Water PS Julius Korir said talks with China Exim Bank and CIDCA agreed that preparatory activities for the Bosto Dam Water Supply Project, Bomet County, will be fast-tracked so it is ready for concessional financing. The Standard puts the cost at an estimated KSh21 billion (about USD 162m at the same implied KES 129.6/USD); the design includes a 40-metre dam, a treatment plant of up to 56,000 m3/day and a 200 km transmission network.

Stage: preparation; financing not agreed. Ruto's July 2024 claim of KSh15bn from China was a statement by the President, not a signed deal. Contractor not yet named. Figures are as reported by The Standard.

For bidders and investors: Watch for a signed China Exim loan and a procurement notice; neither exists yet.

03Coast Water Authority · Sep 24

Coast Water Authority signs Muwachi water plant contract, value undisclosed

Seetao reports that China Power Construction and the Coastal Water Authority signed a contract for the Mombasa (Mwache) water treatment plant and ancillary works: a raw water pump station, treatment plant and sludge treatment, designed for 186,000 m3/day. Contract value was not disclosed in the report, and the signing date is given only as 'recently'.

Seetao also reports the adjacent dam is World Bank IDA-financed and the pipeline and reservoirs are French Development Agency-financed (January 2026 signing); the plant's own financier is not stated. This is secondhand reporting, not an award notice.

For bidders and investors: Look for the plant's financier and value in an official award notice; subcontract and equipment supply opportunities follow the main contractor.

04Stage change · Oct 4

Mwache Dam reported over 90% complete, impoundment planned October

Water CS Eric Mugaa toured the KSh45 billion (about USD 347m at roughly KES 129.6/USD) Mwache Multipurpose Dam in Kwale County, built under the Coast Region Water Security and Climate Resilience Project. Kenya News Agency reports it is over 90% complete, with impoundment planned for October 2026; the same report puts Thwake Dam at about 94-96% complete (KSh37bn).

Stage: construction progress, a government claim. The earlier funding stage is not dated in the sources I opened; Thwake's AfDB financing was reported in June and September but falls outside this window.

For bidders and investors: Impoundment will shift attention to treatment, transmission and irrigation packages downstream of the dam.

05Stage change · Oct 5

Kipkaren water supply for Eldoret 80% complete, finish targeted Dec 31

PS Korir inspected the Kipkaren Water Supply Project in Uasin Gishu, implemented by the North Rift Valley Water Works Development Agency. It adds 24,000 m3/day (21,000 to Eldoret, 3,000 to Mosoriot), is 80% complete after works resumed in February, and targets completion by Dec 31. The Eldoret Sewerage Last Mile Connectivity Project is 50% complete.

Project value, financier and contractor are not disclosed in the report, so it cannot be tested against the USD 5m floor; it is included for its stated milestones only.

For bidders and investors: A Dec 31 completion implies follow-on network and sewerage packages; confirm values with the agency.

Next dated events: Mwache Dam impoundment planned for October 2026, and Kipkaren main tank concreting due by October 20.

Coverage: Sep 28 – Oct 5, 2026 (plus dated items from Sep 24)

Researched with GREP. Every story links to its sources.

Enable JavaScript to read this edition.