Product designers in Toronto: sourcing map for a deep, well-paid market where Figma-community and fintech talent is the best target
Bottom line
- Best targets: Fintech and SaaS product teams (Wealthsimple, Zip, Docebo, MaintainX, Marble, Venn), the big banks and retailers (RBC, TD, Loblaw Digital) and Google and Intuit, which show up in self-reported pay data. The Friends of Figma Toronto chapter is the most active design community I could verify.
- Pay band: Posted ranges I retrieved run from CAD 85,000 to 105,000 (Priceline, Product Designer) to CAD 165,000 to 195,000 (Zip, Senior). Self-reported median total compensation is CA$131,137.
- Competitiveness: Large and contested. Many employers post at once, and Google's self-reported median (CA$246,712) is nearly double the overall median. Expect senior candidates to hold competing offers.
- Supply: Large employers are cutting staff (TD, Rogers, Cloudflare, Thinkific), but I found no Toronto layoff that names product designers. Treat any laid-off-designer pool as unconfirmed.
- Assumptions: "Product designers" means UX/UI and product design roles in the Greater Toronto Area, mid-level to senior, since no seniority was given. Today is 5 October 2026.
Role definition
I read "product designer" as a digital designer who owns research, interaction design, UI and prototyping for a software product, usually working in Figma beside product managers and engineers. This is an inference from the postings listed below, not from a taxonomy.
- Occupation code: Job Bank maps the closest official occupation, "user experience designer", to NOC 52120. I did not check O*NET or ESCO.
- Core skills (inference from titles and programs): UX research, interaction design, prototyping, usability testing and AI-assisted workflows. Humber's UX program lists UX research, interaction design, prototyping, usability testing and AI tools.
Typical titles
| Title variant | Seniority | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Product Designer | Mid | Priceline posting |
| Senior Product Designer | Senior | Zip posting |
| Senior Product Designer, AI | Senior | MaintainX posting; AI specialty |
| Senior Product Designer - ILT / TMS | Senior | Docebo posting; learning-platform domain |
| Staff and Senior Product Designer | Staff / Senior | Wealthsimple, multiple roles |
| Lead Product Designer | Lead | Venn posting |
| Senior UX Product Designer | Senior | HelloFresh posting |
| UX Designer, UX Architect, UX Director, UX Researcher, UI Designer, Visual Designer | Mixed | Related titles in Robert Half's Toronto salary table |
Where they work
| Employer | Local evidence | Hiring signal | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Wealthsimple | Toronto location in posting | Staff and Senior roles, multiple teams | Posting |
| Zip | Toronto location in posting | Senior role, CAD 165,000 to 195,000 | Posting |
| MaintainX (an Autodesk company) | Toronto location in posting | Senior AI role, CA$115K to CA$175K | Posting |
| Docebo | Toronto location in posting | Senior role, CA$100.4K to CA$133.9K | Posting |
| Marble | Toronto location in posting | Estimated base $160K to $200K plus equity | Posting |
| Venn | Toronto location in posting | Lead role; no pay range retrieved | Posting |
| HelloFresh | Toronto location in posting | Senior role; no pay range retrieved | Posting |
| Priceline | Toronto location in posting | Mid-level role, CAD 85,000 to 105,000 | Posting |
| Google, Intuit, Loblaw Digital, RBC, TD | Appear in Toronto product-designer pay submissions (self-reported); open roles not verified | Presence only | Levels.fyi |
| Loblaw Digital, Compass Digital, Intuit, Slalom, Questrade, CIBC, Simplii, Rangle | Listed as partners of the Toronto Figma chapter (inference: they employ local designers) | Presence only | Friends of Figma Toronto |
| Wayfair | Its Toronto Technology Development Centre remains operational (law-firm blog, 2 March 2026) | Design roles not verified | Law-firm blog |
Recent layoffs
Ontario has no public WARN-style database that I could find, so this table relies on news, trackers and law-firm blogs. None breaks out product designers.
| Company | Date | Headcount | Location | Functions | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TD | Announced December 2025; tracker entry 26 February 2026 | About 3,000 (3%, estimated) | Canada-wide, Toronto HQ | Not broken out | LayoffsCanada |
| Rogers | 27 April 2026 | Buyouts offered to about 10,000 employees; take-up not confirmed | Company-wide; some teams in business units and corporate functions | Unionized staff and on-air talent excluded | CBC |
| Cloudflare | 8 May 2026 | About 1,100 globally, 20% | Global; Ontario split not given | All teams except quota-carrying sales | Law-firm blog |
| OpenText | 2026 (month not stated) | About 880 | Ontario split not given | Not stated | Law-firm blog |
| Shopify | January 2026 round; Money.ca piece published 24 September 2026 | Not broken out by site; headcount fell about 6% over 2025 (roughly 8,100 to 7,600) | Not stated | January round hit a partnerships team, not design | Whitten & Lublin via Toronto law blog, Money.ca |
| Thinkific | Announced 23 September 2026 (BetaKit, 24 September) | 30% of employees | Vancouver-based; Canadian split not given | Not stated | BetaKit |
| Ubisoft Toronto | 2026 (low-quality source) | 40 | Toronto | Game studio; unverified | Treat as a lead only |
KEY TAKEAWAY: Layoffs at large Toronto employers are real, but no source I fetched ties them to product designers, so the laid-off-designer pool is inference.
Talent pipeline
| Institution | Program | Output or timing | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| OCAD University | Digital Futures | Four-year BFA or BDes; graduates go into UI/UX and interaction design. Cohort size not published on the page | OCAD admissions |
| Humber Polytechnic | User Experience (UX) Design graduate certificate | Three semesters; January, May and September starts | Humber |
| BrainStation | Product Design course, Toronto | Bootcamp-style; cohort sizes not retrieved | BrainStation |
| George Brown College | Honours Bachelor of Digital Experience Design (G301) | Page details not retrieved | George Brown |
Communities and events
| Name | Type | Activity evidence | Link |
|---|---|---|---|
| Friends of Figma Toronto | Chapter, 1,632 members | Events on 6, 7, 8 and 15 October 2026 (the 15 October one is on AI-powered design workflows); past Config watch party | Chapter page |
| Service Design Drinks Toronto | Meetup | Every fourth Friday, next on 23 October 2026 | Meetup |
| IxDF Toronto | Local group | Past meetup 26 November 2025 on its page; later local activity not confirmed | IxDF |
| Figma Toronto (Meetup) | Meetup, 168 members | No upcoming events; likely superseded by the Friends of Figma chapter (inference) | Meetup |
| UXDX Toronto | Meetup | Listing fetched; recent activity not confirmed | Meetup |
Market pay
| Source | Data year | Range or percentiles | Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| Levels.fyi, Product Designer, Toronto | Updated 5 October 2026 | Median total comp CA$131,137; 25th to 75th percentile CA$105,288 to CA$169,166; 90th CA$201,367; 90 submissions | Self-reported |
| Levels.fyi company medians | Same | Google CA$246,712; Intuit CA$157,390; Loblaw Digital CA$136,777; RBC CA$121,760; TD CA$101,485 | Self-reported |
| Robert Half, Product Designer, Toronto | Guide projects 2027 | Low 78,030; mid 97,740; high 114,750 | Placement-based salary guide |
| Robert Half, UX Designer, Toronto | Guide projects 2027 | 80,460 / 107,730 / 126,360 (low/mid/high) | Placement-based salary guide |
| Job Bank, user experience designer, Toronto Region | Updated 19 November 2025 | $21.00 / $33.65 / $53.37 per hour (low/median/high) | Official |
| Job postings (above) | Live, October 2026 | CAD 85,000 to 195,000 across eight postings; five state a range | Posted ranges |
Reading: Official and placement-based figures sit around CA$70,000 to 115,000 for mid-level roles, while self-reported and posted senior ranges run CA$100,000 to 200,000, so budget by seniority and employer type. At 2,080 hours a year, the Job Bank median is roughly CA$70,000 (derived, my arithmetic).
Search strings
LinkedIn Recruiter or LinkedIn search: product designers in Toronto, excluding adjacent roles.
("product designer" OR "senior product designer" OR "UX designer" OR "UX/UI designer" OR "staff designer") AND (Figma OR "design systems" OR prototyping) AND ("Greater Toronto Area" OR Toronto) NOT (graphic OR intern OR "interior")
Google X-ray on public LinkedIn profiles.
site:linkedin.com/in ("product designer" OR "UX designer") (Toronto OR "Greater Toronto Area") (Figma OR "design system") -recruiter -intern
Google X-ray on portfolios (Behance, Dribbble).
(site:behance.net OR site:dribbble.com) ("product design" OR "UX design") Toronto
Job-board resume search (Indeed-style syntax; check each board's operators).
("product designer" OR "UX designer" OR "UI designer") AND (Figma OR Sketch) AND (Toronto OR Mississauga OR Markham) NOT intern
Laid-off or open-to-work signal search (public posts only).
site:linkedin.com/posts ("product designer" OR "UX designer") ("open to work" OR "laid off") Toronto
Gaps and caveats
- Layoffs: No Toronto source names product designers, and Ontario has no public WARN database. Layoffs.fyi and TrueUp were not checked. The Ubisoft item comes from a low-quality site. Cloudflare and OpenText splits for Ontario are unknown.
- Employers: Postings confirm hiring, not headcount. Headcounts by site were not retrieved. Google, Intuit, Loblaw Digital, RBC and TD appear only through self-reported pay data.
- Pay: Levels.fyi data is self-reported with a small sample (90). Robert Half's guide is a projection built on its own placements. Venn, HelloFresh and Wealthsimple pay ranges were not retrieved. Pay data is market context, not compensation advice.
- Pipeline: Completion counts (IPEDS-style or Ontario equivalents) were not retrieved, and George Brown and BrainStation details are thin.
- Communities: Only Friends of Figma and Service Design Drinks show clearly current activity. LinkedIn event posts surfaced in search were not fetched.
- Role definition: O*NET and ESCO were not checked.
Sources
All pages accessed 5 October 2026; publication dates given where the page states one.
- Levels.fyi: Product Designer salary, Toronto (updated 5 October 2026)
- Robert Half: Product Designer salary, Toronto
- Robert Half: UX Designer salary, Toronto (linked from the Product Designer page; figures read there)
- Job Bank: wages for user experience designers, Toronto Region (wages updated 19 November 2025)
- Priceline posting: Product Designer
- Venn posting: Lead Product Designer
- Marble posting: Product Designer
- HelloFresh posting: Senior UX Product Designer
- Zip posting: Senior Product Designer
- MaintainX posting: Senior Product Designer, AI
- Docebo posting: Senior Product Designer
- Wealthsimple posting: Staff and Senior Product Designer
- LayoffsCanada: TD layoffs (26 February 2026)
- CBC: Rogers buyouts (27 April 2026)
- Taman Singh Law: Cloudflare layoffs
- Thrive Lawyers: OpenText layoffs
- Taman Singh Law: Wayfair restructuring (2 March 2026)
- Prince Rodriguez: Ubisoft Toronto layoffs (low-quality source)
- Money.ca: Shopify AI hiring freeze (24 September 2026)
- Toronto employment law blog: Shopify layoffs (content dated 23 January 2026)
- BetaKit: Thinkific layoffs (24 September 2026)
- OCAD University: Digital Futures
- Humber Polytechnic: UX Design
- George Brown: Digital Experience Design
- BrainStation: Product Design, Toronto
- Friends of Figma Toronto
- Service Design Drinks Toronto: Service Design Connect
- IxDF Toronto
- Figma Toronto on Meetup
- UXDX Toronto on Meetup